Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Typically, a structure can be built as far from the street as desired, as long as the structure does not encroach on any building setbacks.
For more information on a specific property, please call Development Services at 361-485-3320.
Fences can be a maximum of 8 feet in height, however a fence that crosses a front building setback line shall be required to transition down to 3 feet in height. For lots with no platted front building setback line, a distance of 20 feet shall be used.
For more information on what is appropriate or acceptable when building a fence, access the Building Guide (PDF).
Building setbacks are determined either by Platting or Fire Code. If your property is platted, the building setbacks will be shown on the plat, which can be requested by calling Development Services at 361-485-3360.
Yes, above-ground pools do require a permit. Permits are required to ensure that the area has been fenced off.
Site plans and platting documents are approved by Planning Services, building plans and permits are approved by the Development Center. These are separate divisions within Development Services.
The separate plans can, however, be reviewed concurrently. Plat approval is required prior to site plan approval and site plan approval is required before building permits may be issued.
Information on how to submit plans to both departments may be found by referencing our Development Guide.
Yes a street closure does require a permit/Letter of Approval.
Permits for parades and block parties, are issued by the Police Department; to access the necessary forms, visit the Police Department Documents and Forms page.
Requests for construction related street closures must be submitted to Celeste Menchaca. For more information or to submit a construction related street closure request, please email Celeste Menchaca.
The request needs to include:
The State of Texas has guidelines that must be followed regarding accessible ramps to structures; inquiries would need to check the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations Architectural Barriers/Texas Accessibility Standards (TAS) for requirements.
For more information, access the Texas Accessibility Standards (TAS) of the Architectural Barriers Act Article 9102, Texas Civil Statutes (PDF).
Yes, if you or your family own and live at the property and have registered with the Victoria County Appraisals District for Homestead Exemption.
Yes. To submit a request, please access the Building Permit Application (PDF).
Depending on project, you may also need an asbestos survey.
Building owners and contractors must provide the city with evidence that asbestos surveys have been conducted on portions of buildings affected by the planned renovation or demolition by a person licensed under the Texas Asbestos Health Protection Act.
To access a current list of licensed asbestos inspectors, you may:
Only if the storage building exceeds 200 square feet, although the building must not be placed within lot setbacks and easements running through your property.
No, within your property lines your can repair concrete, or pave your driveway.
If, however, you are working in the City right-of-way or approach into the street, this will need approval and permitting.
For residences, all electrical plugs under 42 inches from floor shall be tamper resistant, unless located behind major appliances.
Generally no; however masonry columns/fences or fences with electrical components require permits.
Additionally, fences should never extend beyond a property line, and all fences must follow the height requirements found in the Building Guide (PDF).
For fixing and improving upon an existing manufactured home, the Texas Manufactured Housing Division needs to be notified for any requirements and/or inspections.